Categories
Breakfast Recipes

Chocolate – Gingerbread Nicecream

I know, it’s been quite a while since I last uploaded a post and I’ve dearly missed it – but life has just been too much in the way lately! First I spent three wonderful weeks in Thailand (if I ever get round to it, I’ll try to upload a travel diary!) and then school’s been taking away most of my ‘free’ time – I think most of you can relate😅

Now, I’m finally back with a winter recipe that I’ve recently come up with and absolutely love: Chocolate – gingerbread flavoured nicecream! Technically, it’s way too cold for nicecream, but I love it too much to give up eating this cold and creamy goodness for half a long year. Therefore, I thought I’d at least make it taste festive – I knew it had to be chocolatey, because chocolate, duh 😀 Combining it with gingerbread spice was honestly such a good idea, as this makes it taste like chocolate covered gingerbread, which I love eating in the christmas season!

This recipe also packs in a good portion of zucchini, and all in all you’ll get in about 2 – 2.5 of your 5-a-day as well as lots of plantbased protein, while tasting like a decadent dessert – who wouldn’t want a breakfast like this? 😉

So here’s the recipe if you want to try it for yourself  – I’m sure you won’t regret it!

You’ll need:

  • 1 frozen banana (sliced)
  • 1 – 1.5 cups (~150-170g) frozen zucchini (chopped to small cubes)
  • 100g soy yoghurt/curd
  • 50ml soy milk (any other plantbased milk will do too!)
  • 1 scoop (30g) vegan chocolate protein
  • 1 heaping TBSP (10g) cacao powder
  • 2 tsp gingerbread spice mix*

Method:

  1. This recipe couldn’t be any easier – simply add all the ingredients to a food processor and blend! Try to be patient and not add any more liquid right away, otherwise you’ll find that your nicecream will quickly become too liquid-y. If it really won’t come together, carefully add a little more liquid, 1 TBSP at a time.
  2. Spoon into a bowl and place it in the freezer while you prepare the toppings (otherwise it’ll melt quicker than you want it to!)
  3. Decorate with your favourite toppings (mine are fresh berries, nut butter and granola) and enjoy before it melts!
IMG_20171111_105950_621.jpg
Topped with persimmon, berries, white almond butter and cashew granola
IMG_20171118_105650_392.jpg
Toppings on this one are berries, popped quinoa, forest fruit granola and a drizzle of hazelnut butter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notes:

*if gingerbread spice isn’t available where you live, just use a mix of (ground) cinnamon, coriander, cloves, fennel, anise, ginger, cardamom and nutmeg – as many as are available to you (and be careful with the dosage 😉 )

If you try this recipe, feel free to tag me on insta (@snowflakesandstrawberries) or leave me a comment down here to let me know how you liked it!

Linda ❤

2 replies on “Chocolate – Gingerbread Nicecream”

It’s one of the best festive spices! Putting it on sweet potato sounds awesome, I need to try that 😀

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment