Categories
favourites lifestyle

Some Things I’m Loving #3 – June/July 2018

It has again been quite a while since my last favourites post, as I was reminded when I read Emma’s (fruitsandroutes) “Things I’m Loving Lately”. So, I decided it was time for a little catch-up on some things I’ve discovered/been loving lately myself  🙂

It has again been quite a while since my last favourites post, as I was reminded when I read Emma’s (fruitsandroutes) “Things I’m Loving Lately”. So, I decided it was time for a little catch-up on some things I’ve discovered/been loving lately myself  🙂


IMG_20180601_151212561.jpg
definitely going to spend lots of time at the lake!

Freetime Galore

Just to get the obvious out the way 😉 I think any fellow student will agree that exam time is just incredibly stressful and nerve-racking, so the relief of it being over and having free time again is just the best feeling. I’ve been on summer break for a week now and it’s so nice to have my entire days free to do whatever I want!

 

Miso

IMG_20180702_200727301.jpg
found no nice miso aubergine pic, but this miso soup was delicious too

After trying eatnourishlove‘s miso aubergine recipe, I was quickly converted from being a miso hater to becoming utterly obsessed with adding it to anything and everything – especially aubergine, but it also works really well with mushrooms or even as miso soup. The pot of miso paste that was once hidden in the depths of the fridge is now constantly being used up, so I think it’s safe to say I’ve been having a miso addiction these past months! Miso Aubergine was definitely an absolute comfort dinner favourite to fuel me during exam time.

 

Hot Chocolate

Despite it being rather warm outside, I’ve sometimes found myself craving hot chocolate the past couple months. Especially during evenings/nights spent studying, a nice big cup of hot chocolate made for a super convenient way to get that much needed chocolatey dessert fix that I much preferred over eating actual chocolate whilst studying (I can’t stand eating while studying, but usually need something sweet after dinner). My favourite way of making a healthier + vegan version of it is to heat some (~250ml) coconut milk (the carton one, not the one for cooking) in the microwave or on the stovetop, then add a small pinch of salt, some vanilla essence or vanilla stevia, a tablespoon of unsweetened cacao powder and any sweetener of choice and mix with a handheld frother – tastes so rich and delicious. Definitely let me know if you try it out!

 

BTS

Kpop is definitely not my usual music genre of choice, but BTS has been an exception. I recently rediscovered them through their new album on Spotify and have been loving listening to it whilst preparing breakfast in the morning. Their music is such a nice combination of pop and a little bit of Hip Hop – I might not understand a word, but I love it!

 

Image-1529345212373.jpgNicecream

An obvious favourite, as you’ll know if you’re following my instagram 😉 Summer mornings almost always have me craving it, so the past weeks I’ve been trying various different flavour combinations (my favourite being anything berry + chocolate!) – definitely going to make a post for those too, because I’ve come across some really delicious creations! As for toppings – aka the most important part – I’ve loved using different granolas, popped spelt and nut butter, especially coconut ones, which always harden up to form a sort of “shell” on top of the nicecream – yum!

 

Reading

img_20180620_153220155.jpg
food + books = the best combo (also I promise this salad tasted better than what it looked like!)

Lastly, an old favourite. Constantly having to do lots of work and reading for school has taken away any time to spend reading, which was sad, but with the holidays I now have all the time in the world to catch up on some books I’ve really been wanting to read. As I tend to read a few books at once, I’m currently reading the final part of “Trials of Apollo” by Rick Riordan (I may be a couple years above the target age group but hey, it’s fun to read!), a nutrition book to enhance my knowledge a little, as well as “The Blind Watchmaker” by Richard Dawkins, which I’m reading for my biology class.

 


Hope you enjoyed reading – it definitely was fun writing this! What are your favourite things at the moment?

Linda xx

By toatallylinda

lover of food, books and coffee | you can also find me on instagram @toatallylinda :)

Leave a comment