Categories
Breakfast Recipes

Lemon Cake Oatmeal

What’s your favourite cake flavour? I’ll admit that my absolute favourite is nothing “special”, just good old chocolate. But a very close second is – you may have guessed it – lemon cake, a flavour that seems to be a little underrated in my eyes. I mean, how often do you come across a lemon cake-inspired recipe? So to honour this glorious combo of lemon + carbs, I decided to turn it into an oatmeal flavour. It turned out to be one of the best oatmeal creations I’ve tried so far – a thick and creamy consistency, lots of lemony flavour, balanced out by a little sweetener, making for a wonderfully moreish-tasting breakfast.

2018-02-24 09.59.16 1.jpg
It’s been a new favourite go-to for a little while now – delicious, healthy, quick & easy to make before school – what’s not to love? There have been requests for the recipe ever since the first day I created it, so now it’s finally time to share it with you. I hope you’ll love it as much as I do!

RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • 50g (steel-cut) oatsImage-1518894764788.jpg
  • 1 tsp coconut flour
  • 150 ml oat milk
  • 1 TBSP vanilla custard powder (unsweetened)
  • 150 ml water
  • 1 tsp grated organic lemon zest (make sure it’s fresh and organic to get the best flavour + avoid anything toxic – non-organic lemon zest isn’t supposed to be consumed!)
  • 3 TBSP lemon juice (freshly squeezed)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • sweetener (I usually go for 1 tsp agave syrup, but feel free to use any sweetener you like)

Method:

  1. In a pot, stir together the oats, coconut flour, lemon zest and salt.
  2. Mix the vanilla custard powder with the oat milk in a seperate container, ensuring there are no lumps (I use a mini frother for this).
  3. Add the custard powder + oat milk, water, lemon juice and vanilla to the pot and give it a good mix before placing the pot on the stove top on high heat.
  4. When everything starts to boil, reduce to a medium heat and let it cook to the consistency you deisre. If the oats start getting too thick, just add a little more water. Just before it’s ready, add sweetener to your liking.
  5. Serve with lots of toppings – cashew butter goes really well with the citrusy flavour, but also any other nut butter, soy yoghurt, (frozen) berries/fruits are a great option – and enjoy! 🙂

    If you try this recipe, feel free to comment/tag me on insta (@snowflakesandstrawberries) and let me know how you liked it!

    Linda xx

 

By toatallylinda

lover of food, books and coffee | you can also find me on instagram @toatallylinda :)

2 replies on “Lemon Cake Oatmeal”

Leave a comment